InstellingenIk ga akkoord



EUREKA members Iceland and Norway first non-EU countries Horizon 2020

Researchers and companies from Iceland and Norway are now allowed to participate in the EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation (Horizon 2020) on the same basis as their counterparts in the EU. This decision applies to all calls for projects launched in the frame of Horizon 2020 since the beginning of the year.  

The agreement reached between Norwegian and Icelandic ambassadors and representatives of the European Commission (EC), also comprises a financial contribution to Horizon 2020 to be paid the Scandinavian countries. Both states were already associated in Horizon 2020 projects through the Eurostars joint EU-EUREKA programme, which was one of the first Horizon 2020 instruments to launch a call in the beginning of this year.

Horizon 2020 is a EC programme for financing European research and innovation. Through Horizon 2020, the EC aims at increasing Europe's competitive position by strengthening scientific knowledge and by stimulating innovation. In addition, the EC wants to challenge business and academia to collaborate in creating solutions for pan-European societal challenges, such as climate change, ageing population, food safety & security and affordable renewable energy. The programme is based on 3 pillars: Excellent Science, Industrial Leadership and Societal Challenges.

Terug naar overzicht